Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 16th, 2010

Yesterday was a travel day and a torrential rain day.  Torrential rain is not a good day for sight seeing, but it is not a good day for driving either.  By the time we crossed the boarder to Rhode Island I was bracing myself in my seat.  Thinking of what to do we decided to take an indoor tour of something.  As art majors when Bryce and I think of Rhode Island we automatically think of RISD, a prestigious art school in Providence.  We drove to admissions and I posed as a student interested in attending.  Not complete silliness as I loved college and would go back in a heartbeat, especially if accepted to a great school like Rhode Island School of Design.

RISD

On the tour were things like the nature center, filled with taxidermy and skeletons for “life” drawings, and the studio spaces.  Even under an overcast sky Providence and RISD had a special appeal.  Had it been sunny I probably would have asked for an application.  The tour, while fictional began to stir up emotions in me.  Should I ever go back to school and get my masters?  If so, in what?  I would love to do furniture design, but what would going to college do in terms of furniture design that I couldn’t learn apprenticing a furniture maker or attending a community college?  Would RISD bring me money as a designer or leave me in bigger financial debt as a student who never made it?  What do I need a graduate degree for?  Teaching college?  Would I want to teach furniture design?  Not really.  Then what?  Probably drawing.  Would I want to master in drawing? Not really. Am I too old to fit into the dynamic of college again?

As a family we have decided to table the issue.  What are your thoughts?

Read Full Post »