Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 16th, 2010

My Soul in the Prairie

For the first time in a very long time I ventured out of town with only one Lincoln, the Lincoln Navigator.  This weekend I made a solo trip to Hubbard, Iowa where I meet with women I had meet in a learning program.  The trip was a mini-retreat and a reunion all in one.  We shared where we were since we last saw each other on graduating the program and spent some time in reflection.  My friend, Angela, had been unable to attend graduation which was just days after birthing a beautiful baby girl in the world.  Baby Isabella was able to attend the retreat and she was a pure delight.

The retreat center we met at in Hubbard was owned by one of the women in the group.  The center is called Soul of the Prairie and it is beautiful.  The main area is in a renovated chicken coop (the large kind).  There are three natural labyrinths, a tree house, hammock, tire swing, rocking chair, and a loom.  It was a beautiful sunny day, cool when the sun peaked behind clouds and we soaked it all in.

I had wavered back and forth how to attend this retreat being 3 hours away from the sight.  Should I take Lincoln and stay overnight?  There are beautiful bedrooms and bathroom facilities in the chicken house.  Should I stay Saturday or Friday? Which fit my schedule more.  Finally when it came down to it, this week had been so unsettling with a readjusting toddler, a broken vehicle, a broken computer, several unexpected expenditures that I decided to treat myself and go alone.  It was a breath of fresh air.  And the drive was delightful.  The roads were free of traffic, the radio was playing only the best, and sky was dry, yet throwing lightning throughout the purple clouds.  I was in heaven.

Read Full Post »